EU shipping is temporarily suspended

The Fairytale Princess

Seven Classic Stories from the Enchanted Forest

Su Blackwell, Wendy Jones

Out of stock


Seven classic fairytales, beautifully illustrated by dramatically lit photographs of sumptuous paper-cut sculptures

See Inside


Step into a fairytale world, where princesses live in paper kingdoms that emerge from seven classic tales: Cinderella, The Frog Prince, The Twelve Dancing Princesses, The Princess and the Pea, Snow White, Rapunzel and Sleeping Beauty.

Each tale is illustrated by a series of intricate paper sculptures, meticulously cut from the pages of another edition of the same story. Su Blackwell’s sculptures summon up a fantastical world of beauty and mischief, while Wendy Jones’s retellings are fresh and lyrical.

Read More


'Original and exceptional … remarkable for its photographic illustrations of Su Blackwell’s extraordinary paper sculptures'
Sunday Times

'While the tales are faithfully retold, the illustrations invite the reader to step into a paper kingdom where princesses inhabit an enchanting world made from the very books that created them'
Telegraph Magazine

Product Information

Book Details

Format: Quarterbound/PLC (no jacket)

Size: 28.7 x 23.5 cm

Extent: 96 pp

Publication date: 8 October 2012

ISBN: 9780500650066

Contents List

Cinderella • The Frog Prince • The Twelve Dancing Princesses • The Princess and the Pea • Snow White • Rapunzel • Sleeping Beauty

About the Author

Su Blackwell is an artist and art director working predominantly within the realm of paper and old books. Her work includes advertising campaigns, music videos and theatre set design.

Wendy Jones writes for children and adults. She has an MA in creative writing from the University of East Anglia and is completing a PhD in creative writing at Goldsmiths College, University of London.

List of Contributors

Tim Clinch