EU shipping is temporarily suspended

Impressionist and Post-Impressionist Drawings

Christopher Lloyd


An authoritative analysis of the drawings (including watercolours and pastels) of twenty leading Impressionist and Post-Impressionist artists in one magnificent volume

See Inside


Manet, Pissarro, Morisot, Cézanne, Seurat, Gauguin, Van Gogh and their colleagues made some of the most beautiful drawings in the history of art. This book sets drawings by the Impressionists and Post-Impressionists in the context of late nineteenth-century France and explains why these particular works are as important as their paintings in the representation of modernity. A new approach to materials and a wholly inclusive attitude to exhibitions gave drawings a more elevated status in this period than ever before, which avant-garde artists welcomed in their preference for scenes from contemporary life. For the first time also, painting and drawing shared the same stylistic principles of spontaneity, freer handling and lack of finish. Pastels by Degas, watercolors by Cézanne, pen-and-ink drawings by Van Gogh and mixed media works by Toulouse-Lautrec have an autonomy of their own, which proved instrumental in the development of modern art. The distinguished art historian Christopher Lloyd examines the drawings of twenty of the leading Impressionist and Post-Impressionist artists, highlighting an aspect of French avant-garde art that remains relatively unexplored and was of immense importance for the art movements that followed

Product Information

Book Details

Format: Hardback with tipped on colour plate to front board (without jacket)

Size: 24.6 x 21.2 cm

Extent: 288

Illustrations: 224

ISBN: 9780500021231

Contents List

Introduction: The Triumph of Drawing • Eugène Boudin 1824–1898 • Camille Pissarro 1830–1903 • Édouard Manet 1832–1883 • Edgar Degas 1834–1917 • Paul Cézanne 1839–1906 • Alfred Sisley 1839–1899 • Odilon Redon 1840–1916 • Claude Monet 1840–1926 • Berthe Morisot 1841–1895 • Pierre-Auguste Renoir 1841–1919 • Federico Zandomeneghi 1841–1917 • Mary Cassatt 1844–1926 • Paul Gauguin 1848–1903 • Gustave Caillebotte 1848–1894 • Jean-François Raffaëlli 1850–1924 • Jean-Louis Forain 1852–1931 • Vincent van Gogh 1853–1890 • Georges Seurat 1859–1891 • Paul Signac 1863–1935 • Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec 1864–1901