EU shipping is temporarily suspended

The Highland Clans

Alistair Moffat


‘A brisk and accessible guide to a thousand years of reiving and rivalry in the Highlands’ The Scotsman

See Inside


Alistair Moffat traces the history of the clans from their Celtic origins to the coming of the Romans; from Somerled the Viking to Robert the Bruce; from the battles of Bannockburn and Flodden to Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobite Risings; and from the Clearances to the present day.

These are stories of great leaders and famous battles. They are also stories of an extraordinary people, shaped by the traditions and landscape of the Scottish Highlands. Moffat is an adept guide to the world of the clans and carefully chosen illustrations draw you even further into this fascinating world.

The story of the clans is also about the great emigrations to the United States, Canada, Australia and New Zealand which began after Culloden. Clansmen and women disappeared, but the memories have never faded. Even today the power of the ancient clan names persists, drawing many of the children of the diaspora back to this rugged corner of the world.

Complete with a clan map, this is a must for anyone interested in the history of Scotland.

Read More


'Full of character, combining proper research with a sure eye to what attracts and sustains an audience’s attention '
Scotland on Sunday

'Refreshing new material and commanding historical breadth in this lively and beautifully illustrated survey of 1,000 years of clancestry'
Country Life

'The best popular text of its kind … Alistair Moffat is both a scholar and a writer in touch with ordinary folk. He deals with controversial topics expertly and keeps the facts in focus'
Scots Magazine

'An extraordinary achievement … The Highland Clans drifts effortlessly between exceedingly good reference book and riproaring read'
Peeblesshire News

Read More

Product Information

Book Details

Format: Paperback

Size: 20.0 x 13.5 cm

Extent: 176 pp

Illustrations: 86

Publication date: 18 February 2013

ISBN: 9780500290842

Contents List

Preface: The Children of the Mist • 1. The Names of his Blood • 2. At First Light the Standards Gleamed • 3. Out of the Mouth of the Morning • 4. The Age of the Forays • 5. The Clans Daunted • 6. No Further Than Here • 7. Moments When Nothing Seemed Impossible • 8. Lochaber No More • 9. The Blood is Strong • 10. Camusdarroch • The Clans

Related Topics