EU shipping is temporarily suspended

Architecture and Polyphony:

Building in the Islamic World Today

Out of stock


Since 1977 the triennial Aga Khan Award has celebrated outstanding contributions to architectural design, logical construction and the revivification of historic cities - this catalogue presents the seven projects selected for the ninth Award


At no time in recent history have architecture, urban planning, rehabilitation and reconstruction been as important to the Islamic World as they are today.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established in 1977 to enhance the understanding and appreciation of Islamic culture as expressed through architecture. Previous winners of this prestigious award, which is given every three years, include such architects as Geoffrey Bawa, Balkrishna Doshi, Ken Yeang, Jean Nouvel, Charles Correa, Frei Otto and Hassan Fathy.

For this current cycle, the Award is paying special attention to identifying more examples of the new types of architecture that are emerging throughout the Muslim world. The documented projects represent efforts in the categories of infrastructure, landscaping, community development, public urban spaces and responses to the growing crisis of housing shortage in many Muslim societies. For this year's award, the steering committee includes Charles Correa, Jacques Herzog, Mohsen Mostafavi and Glenn Lowry. With each of the winning schemes profiled and illustrated in depth, and critical essays that consider the challenges and rewards confronting architects working in Muslim lands, this important yet accessibly priced publication provides valuable insights into a wide array of practices, methods and design solutions.

Read More


'A fantastic mix of the mainstream and obscure'
RIBA Journal

Product Information

Book Details

Format: Paperback with flaps

Size: 27.9 x 21.6 cm

Extent: 176 pp

Publication date: 20 December 2004

ISBN: 9780500285336