EU shipping is temporarily suspended


Anna Jackson

Out of stock


A lavish survey of the Khalili Collection’s world-renowned holdings of traditional Japanese kimono, from the Edo period to the 20th century.


The Khalili Collection of kimonos comprises over 200 garments spanning 300 years of Japanese textile artistry. The form of the T-shaped, straight-seamed, front-wrapping kimono has changed very little over the centuries, yet the collection reveals an astonishing variety of designs. The garments presented here convey the remarkable creativity of designers who produced works of art that would enfold the wearer. The enormous range of patterns were executed in a complex combination of techniques, with some garments requiring the expert skills of a number of different artisans.

The Khalili Collection includes formal, semi-formal and informal kimono, underkimono and jackets, worn by women, men and children. Represented are the sophisticated garments of the samurai elite and the affluent merchant classes of the Edo period (1603– 1868), the shifting styles and new colour palette of Meiji-period dress (1868–1912) and particularly the bold and dazzling kimono of the Taisho- (1912–26) and early Sho-wa (1926–89) eras, which utilized innovative techniques and drew fresh inspiration from both past traditions and the modern world.

Here, an international team of authors examine the art and evolution of the kimono in the historical context of the 17th to the 20th centuries, under the editorship of Anna Jackson, Keeper of the Asian Department at the Victoria and Albert Museum, London.

Read More


'‘Charming details abound’'
Financial Times

'‘Dazzling … offers fascinating examples of East/West dialogue’'
World of Interiors

'‘A joy to behold’'
The Lady

'‘A collection of exceptional essays, expertly edited’'
The Business of Fashion

Read More

Product Information

Book Details

Format: Paperback

Size: 30.0 x 24.0 cm

Extent: 320 pp

Illustrations: 400

Publication date: 20 February 2020

ISBN: 9780500294017

Contents List

Introduction • I. Edo (1603–1868) • II. Meiji (1868–1912) • III. Taisho/Showa (1912–1989)

About the Author

Anna Jackson is Keeper of the Asian department at the Victoria and Albert Museum, and Honorary Curator of the Khalili Collection.

Related Topics